Skip to main content

About the Department

The Construction and Operations Management department is one of five academic units in the Jerome J. Lohr College of Engineering at South Dakota State University. Housed in historic Solberg Hall, the COM department employs 17 full and part-time faculty, 3 full-time staff members, and has 350+ student majors.

The department offers five undergraduate degrees: Construction Management, Construction Technology, Electronics Engineering Technology, Engineering Technology, and Operations Management.  Minors in Engineering Management, Construction, Mechatronics Technology, and Heavy Highway Construction are offered for majors in affiliated disciplines.  We also offer a 12-credit certificate in Pre-Construction Planning.

At the graduate level, we offer a Master of Science in Operations Management (MSOM) via on-campus and hybrid delivery, an online Management Foundations 12-credit certificate, and the online Master of Engineering (M.Eng.) 30-credit professional degree program.