Skip to main content
Close Search

Image for Celebration of Faculty Excellence

Celebration of Faculty Excellence

2018 Celebration of Faculty Excellence

Once a year the faculty of South Dakota State University come together to celebrate and recognize successes through the Celebration of Faculty Excellence event.

The day begins with faculty presentations and discussions at the Sewrey Colloquium and a Faculty Showcase to share research, scholarship and creative activities.  The prestigious David Fee Memorial Lecture offers the opportunity for an esteemed colleague to share his or her scholarly expertise.  A reception concludes the afternoon activities and provides a social time to meet new colleagues and deepen professional friendships.  The highlight of the day is the evening banquet and awards program where faculty are recognized for outstanding performance.

February 20, 2018

David Fee Memorial Lecture

1-2 p.m. (SSU 262/Lewis & Clark Room)

"The Power of Rapport"
Presented by Dr. Teri Johnson, University College

Sewrey Colloquium

2-3 p.m. (SSU 262/Lewis and Clark Room)

Creative & Fine Arts  
2 p.m.
"Researching the Early Hawaiian Steel Guitar: World Expositions, Country Music, and Swing" 
Anthony Lis, Professor of Music

2:15 p.m.
Christin Carotta, Assistant Professor, Counseling and Human Development 

2:30 p.m.     
"Comics in the Classroom"
Nicole Flynn, Assistant Professor of English

2:45 p.m.   
"Promoting Intercultural Competence and Global Citizenship Through Service-Learning and Study Abroad" 
Molly Enz, Associate Professor of Modern Languages   

Faculty Posters

2-4 p.m. (SSU 253/Crest Room)
Faculty will be with their posters from 3-4 p.m.
Faculty feature posters and visual art highlighting research and scholarship including scholarship of teaching and learning.  Please come to learn more about the innovative work being conducted by your peers. Pre-Registration is required.

Poster Presentation Information


5-5:45 p.m. (SSU 101/Volstorff Ballroom Lobby)

Banquet and Awards Program

5:45-8 p.m. (SSU 101/Volstorff Ballroom)
RSVP required to attend

Banquet and Awards Program featuring faculty musical performance and
presentation of major faculty awards.