Skip to main content
Close Search

About the College

The College of Agriculture, Food & Environmental Sciences is one of the eight colleges that make up South Dakota State University. Like the university, the college has a three-fold mission to teach, conduct research and use extension programs to serve people in South Dakota, the nation and the world. 

In addition to the main campus in Brookings, the West River Ag Center in Rapid City is an outreach facility of the college that supports teaching, research, and extension in the western part of the state. Other locations throughout the state include eight regional extension centers, three Federally Recognized Tribal Extension Program offices, and five research field stations.

The college is made up of six academic departments. Research and extension staff is distributed among the academic departments. Nearly all faculty have an appointment that is a combination of two or three of the mission areas.