South Dakota Outstanding Physical Science Teacher Award

The South Dakota Science Teachers Association in conjunction with 3M, announces the
38th presentation of the Outstanding Physical Science Teacher Award in the
state of South Dakota.  The recipient of this award receives a plaque and a cash award to support their efforts to teach physical sciences with equipment or perhaps help to attend a conference or workshop.  Laura Mehlbrech, of Washington High School, Sioux Falls, was the recipient of the 2015 South Dakota Outstanding Physical Science Teacher Award.  This  year the award will go to a teacher at a school in a smaller population area with a teacher in a larger population area being recognized next year.  You are encouraged to submit nominations for this year regardless of your school’s size as nominations are saved and
reviewed for several years.


Teachers in the areas of physical science, physics, chemistry, meteorology, and astronomy including grades 7-12, are eligible for the award. To apply, a nominee must submit:
- An application form 
- An educational philosophy statement
- At least four recommendation forms (more if you wish) from

• A supervisor (principal or superintendent)
• A colleague (does not have to be teaching in the physical sciences)
• Two former students

The required forms are available below:
Informational Letter
Application Form
Letter of Recommendation Form
List of Previous Winners

It is important that the information on these forms be as detailed as possible to adequately evaluate each application/nomination. The forms should be returned by Monday, January 5, 2015 to:

Dr. Larry Browning
Physics Dept, DEH 255, Box 2222
South Dakota State University
Brookings, SD 57007 

If you need further information please contact or call the Physics Department at 605-688-5428.