Phone: (605) 688-6965
Mailing Address:
Electrical Engr & Computer Science
Electrical Engineering/Computer Science-Box 2222
Brookings, SD 57007


Visit Professional Page

Qiquan Qiao

Associate Professor/EE Graduate Coordinator

Specialty Area:
solar cells, nanostructures, organic electronics, organic semiconductors
Areas of Study/Academic Interests:
solar cells, nanostructures, organic electronics, organic semiconductors
Ph.D. Virginia Commonwealth University M.S. Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics, Chinese Academy of Sciences B.E. Hefei University of Technology
Teaching Responsibilities:
EE 4/560 Sensors and Measurements EE 735 Fundamentals of Photovoltaics EE 737 Organic Electronics
Qiquan Qiao, Prakash, Hao Fong, Lifeng Zhang, David Galipeau, "Semiconductor Nanoparticle/Nanofiber Composite Electrodes",.USPTO Applicaton #: #20110079275 - Class: 136252 (USPTO).
1. Qi Wang, Iain W. H. Oswald, Xiaolong Yang, Guijiang Zhou, Huiping Jia, , Qiquan Qiao, Yonghua Chen, Jason Hoshikawa-Halbert, and Bruce E. Gnade, A Non-Doped Phosphorescent Organic Light-Emitting Device with Above 31% External Quantum Efficiency, Advanced Materials, 26: 8107–8113, 2014. 2. Qi Wang, Iain W. H. Oswald, Michael R. Perez, Huiping Jia, Qiquan Qiao, Bruce E. Gnade, and Mohammad A. Omary, Doping-Free Organic Light-Emitting Diodes with Very High Power Efficiency, Simple Device Structure, and Superior Spectral Performance, Advanced Functional Materials, 24(30), 4746-4752, 2014. 3. Swaminathan Venkatesan, Jihua Chen, Evan C. Ngo, Ashish Dubey, Devendra Khatiwada, Cheng Zhang, Qiquan Qiao, Critical role of domain crystallinity, domain purity and domain interface sharpness for reduced bimolecular recombination in polymer solar cells, Nano Energy, 12, 457-467, 2015. 4. Swaminathan Venkatesan, Nirmal Adhikary, Jihua Chen, Evan C. Ngo, Ashish Dubey and David W Galipeau, and Qiquan Qiao, Interplay of nanoscale domain purity and size on charge transport and recombination dynamics in polymer solar cells, Nanoscale, 6 (2), 1011 - 1019, 2014. 5. Shoushuang Huang, Qingquan He, Wenlong Chen, Qiquan Qiao, Dr. Jiantao Zai,and Xuefeng Qian, Ultrathin FeSe2Nanosheets: Controlled Synthesis and Application as a Heterogeneous Catalyst in Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells, Chemistry - A European Journal, Chem. Eur. J.. doi: 10.1002/chem.201406124, 2015. 6. Abu Farzan Mitul, Lal Mohammad, Swaminathan Venkatesan, Nirmal Adhikari, Sudhan Sigdel, Qi Wang, Ashish Dubey, Devendra Khatiwada and Qiquan Qiao, Low temperature efficient interconnecting layer for tandem polymer solar cells, Nano Energy, 11, 56-63, 2014. 7. Jing Li, Ming Yan, Yu Xie, and Qiquan Qiao, Linker Effects on Optoelectronic Properties of Alternate Donor-Acceptor Conjugated Polymers. Energy &Environmental Science, 4 (10), 4276-4283, 2011. 8. Mahbube Siddiki, Jing Li, David Galipeau, and Qiquan Qiao, "A review of polymer multijunction solar cells (invited review, among top ten most-read paper in July 2010)". Energy &Environmental Science, 3(7): p. 867-883, 2010. 9. Prakash Joshi, Yu Xie, Mike Ropp, David Galipeau, Shelia Bailey, and Qiquan Qiao. Dye-sensitized Solar Cells based on Low Cost Nanoscale Carbon/TiO2 Composite Counter Electrode. Energy &Environmental Science (invited and cover article, among top ten most-read paper in August 2010), 2, 426 –429, 2009.
Awards & Honors:
• 2014 F O Butler Award for Excellence in Research, South Dakota State University • 2014 Visiting professorship from Hefei University of Technology, China. • 2013 Best Poster Award at 3rd International Conference on Nanotek and Expo, Las Vegas, NV, USA. • 2013 Best Poster Winner, SD EPSCoR All Investigator Meeting • 2012 Best Paper Award, Inter-Continental Advanced Materials for Photonics (I-CAMP) Summer School on renewable and sustainable energy • 2012 SDSU J. Lohr College of Engineering Young Investigator Award • 2012 3M Non-tenured Faculty Award • 2010 NSF CAREER Award • 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014 J. Lohr College of Engineering Grantsmanship Award • 2010 Excellence in Research Award (EECS), SDSU • 2009 Bergmann Memorial Research Award, US-Israel Binational Science Foundation • 2009 American Chemical Society PRF Doctor New Investigator Award • 2006 China Government Award for Outstanding Self-financed Student Abroad • 2006 ASME Solar Energy Division Graduate Student Award